OG Image Plugins for WooCommerce Compared (2026)
Short answer
WooCommerce ships no og:image for products, product categories or the shop archive: a shared product link carries no image at all. What most stores have instead is an SEO plugin — Yoast SEO or Rank Math — filling the gap with a static image, usually the featured image.
That works until the picture that sells the product is the price, the discount, the stock line or the rating — which a featured image cannot show. Three approaches exist, and they are not interchangeable:
- SEO plugin, static featured image. No rendering. Cheapest, already installed, never current.
- Screenshot capture. A real browser photographs the product page at 1200×630. Faithful, expensive to refresh.
- Catalogue-driven template rendering. A designed card composed from product fields on a render service. Current by construction; needs a template.
The three approaches
SEO plugin plus static featured image. You choose an image per product and every platform shows it. The crop is whatever you uploaded, designed for the product grid rather than a 1.9:1 card. It never goes stale because it never changes — which is the problem: a price drop or a new rating never appears, and re-uploading per product per campaign is work nobody does.
Screenshot capture. A headless browser loads the product page and captures the viewport at 1200×630. Nothing is stale at capture time because it is literally your page, but the crop is your layout, so headers and cookie banners leak into the card unless the theme cooperates. Each refresh is a page load, run on a schedule or on your own PHP workers. PlugUpp works this way: captures are stored as WebP in your uploads directory and refresh on a 30-day default.
Catalogue-driven template rendering. A designed template is filled with fields read from the catalogue: title, price, compare-at price, currency, stock state, rating, product photo. The card is built for the crop, and the price is right because it was read at render time. The cost is that a template decides the look — which is why template count and customisation matter more than they look.
Plugin comparison table
| Plugin | Approach | WooCommerce product covers | Live price / sale badge on the card | Where images render | Facebook re-scrape after a product edit | Install |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoast SEO / Rank Math | Static meta | Yes — your chosen image, not a designed card | No | Nowhere; they point at a file in your media library | Not stated in the material we read | Plugin, usually already present |
| ogdynamic | Template, via SaaS | Yes — title, price, compare-at, SKU, currency, stock, rating, reviews, categories, tags | Yes, from those product fields | Delivered from their CDN | Not mentioned anywhere in the WordPress.org listing | Plugin plus an ogdynamic.com account (OAuth) |
| PlugUpp Dynamic OG Image Generator | Screenshot capture | Premium only; the free tier covers posts, pages and the homepage | Comes from the page itself, because it is the page | Captured via screenshots.plugupp.com, cached as WebP in your uploads directory |
Not stated; captures refresh on a 30-day default | Plugin from WordPress.org |
| OGMagic | Template, via SaaS | Only if you wire the API yourself; no WordPress plugin claimed | Not stated | Hosted URL returned by POST /api/images |
Not stated | Not a plugin — an API call |
| FastOG for WooCommerce | Catalogue-driven template rendering | Yes — product, category, shop and blog-post covers | Yes — price, compare-at, sale percentage, stock, rating, photo | FastOG render service, served from FastOG cache and edge | Queued, best effort, Facebook only | Free plugin from WordPress.org; Wix app in the App Market |
| Orshot | Template, via integration | Only via an integration; no WordPress plugin | Not stated | Their service, driven by a CMS integration | Not stated | Not a plugin — integration or API |
"Not stated" means the material we read on 30 October 2026 does not say — not that the feature is absent.
What the WordPress.org numbers say. ogdynamic (0.2.0, published 29 May 2026, updated 11 October 2026) records fewer than 10 active installations and one review. PlugUpp (2.10.2, updated 19 October 2026) also records fewer than 10 active installations and no reviews. Both are recent and maintained. Neither has enough installs for the listing to report a number.
On free tiers, honestly. Free is the strongest objection to a paid entry point, so here are the sizes. OGMagic gives 50 new hosted images per 30 days, 5 templates and the full editor; Pro is €10 one-time for 500 images per 30 days and 55+ templates. PlugUpp's free tier covers posts, pages and the homepage with 25 startup screenshots — WooCommerce product coverage is Premium. Orshot renews 100 credits monthly and Bannerbear's trial is 30 credits, once. Placid's trial needs no credit card and its unused credits roll over.
FastOG's free tier is Community: free forever, no card and no checkout, covering up to 100 items across product, category, shop and blog-post pages, with four base templates plus the Black Friday and Seasonal Offer product templates. No tier carries a watermark. Paid plans start at $19/month for 250 items and 24 curated templates; Pro is $49/month for 1,000 items and all 45 selectable templates. A store with a small catalogue can therefore compare Community against the competitors' free allowances above and pay nothing; a store that needs the whole catalogue covered will hit Community's 100-item ceiling and should price Starter before choosing.
What to check before you install any of them
- Does it cover product categories and the shop archive, or only products? A shared category link is real traffic that many tools ignore.
- Is the price a field or a screenshot? Fields stay templated; a screenshot inherits your theme.
- Who prints the
og:imagetag? Two tools claiming one tag produce duplicate tags. Prefer one that hands its URL to your SEO plugin's filter, or suppresses the other deliberately. - Where does the render happen? On your host, it competes with the PHP workers serving checkout.
- What refreshes a cached preview after an edit? Facebook is the only platform with a documented programmatic re-scrape. WhatsApp, LinkedIn and X offer none, so "instant update everywhere" is overclaiming — and WhatsApp crops a 1200×630 card regardless, which no plugin changes (details).
- What does "free" cover? Item limit, template limit, images per 30 days, watermark policy, and whether the allowance renews.
- Is the plugin maintained? Version, last-updated date and review count are on the listing.
Where FastOG sits
FastOG is approach three, installed rather than assembled. A free plugin on WordPress.org reads the live catalogue, renders product, category, shop and blog-post covers from 45 selectable templates on FastOG infrastructure, and serves them from FastOG's cache and edge — no browser or image queue on your host. It hands its cover URL to Yoast, Rank Math, AIOSEO or SEOPress through their filters and prints first, and the URL is content-addressed, so a price change mints a new URL while the permalink stays fixed. Product saves queue a best-effort Meta re-scrape, Facebook only; WhatsApp, LinkedIn and X expose no way to ask, and the plugin says so. The Wix app is live; the Shopify app is in the works and not published.
Recap: static image if the image never needs to be true; screenshot if fidelity beats cost and freshness; catalogue-driven rendering if price, sale and stock must be right. FastOG also exposes an API-first REST layer for headless apps.
Test it against your own product. The Free OG Image Tester renders any of the 45 templates with your data, no signup required. WooCommerce stores can install the plugin and generate covers on the fly from the catalogue.
Sources and implementation notes
- ogdynamic on WordPress.org
- PlugUpp Dynamic OG Image Generator on WordPress.org
- OGMagic
- Orshot pricing
- Bannerbear pricing
- Placid pricing
- FastOG vs Yoast SEO and Rank Math
- FastOG WooCommerce integration
- FastOG Wix app
- FastOG: Force a Facebook Open Graph cache refresh
- FastOG: How to cache OG images
- FastOG: WhatsApp link preview not showing
- FastOG: Ecommerce social covers
Competitor facts come only from the vendor pages and WordPress.org listings above, read on 30 October 2026.
Try it free — no signup required
Preview and test dynamic OG images in seconds.
Open the Free OG Image Tester